My debut in Daneshill

Another early start this morning. Had to feed back comments on the first cut of the short film we shot on Friday and then write some new scripts for another short film before 9.30. Ah, the glamour of it all…

Well, I thought I’d treat myself, broaden my parking horizons and leave LC in the care of Daneshill car park.

A word about Daneshill. I’ve coveted the spaces in Daneshill until now; call it car-park-envy if you will. It’s right next to the steps to the station, just like Swingate, but for some reason, the spaces go a little bit earlier. It’s nearer the bingo, but I can’t see that being a deal-breaker. But in summary, today’s parking was an even bigger event than usual.

Plenty of spaces. I chose well, I think. I picked the third nearest space to the steps leading to the station and I reversed in as well, so tonight I’ll be out of that car park like a bat out of Daneshill.

One thing that does hold me back is getting the swipe card ready, winding the window down and actually steering the bloody car all at the same time. I’ve narrowly avoided dinging my front wing on more than one occasion. The best solution I’ve found so far is having the card ready in my teeth and the window down before I even leave my parking spot – though in cold weather I’d really prefer to make it a last minute wind-down.

Maybe velcro could play a part? Suggestions welcome.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

