Debut in Southgate.

I was running later than usual this morning, but not by much. I thought Swingate might have pushing it so the sensible option was Danesgate. Except it wasn’t. I was greeted by those 4 red letters no Stevenage parker wants to see: FULL.

That left me 2 options:
1. The multi-storey which has literally over 1000 spaces which I’ve used once before.
2. Southgate, an unknown quantity for me.

Well I’ve stolen my own thunder in the title so you can be forgiven for not being on the edge of your seat (just this once!).

I really didn’t fancy the multi-storey again. It’s completely empty in the morning and again at night. You can imagine either a bullet-ridden car chase bursting onto the scene or a hip hop promo featuring honeys, 4×4’s with blacked out windows and fancy rims.

It’s everyone’s last resort. It even features on YouTube alongside a chap threatening to end it all. It’s that sort of place.

The upshot is that driving to Southgate and walking back to the station delays me enough to miss my train. There is an upside to this, however. The next train is slower but I can invariably get a seat which is definitely not the case with the 8.08. And satisfying the completist in me, I have now parked in all 5 car parks that my pass gives me access to. I’ve collected the set!

All that excitement and I’ve not even made it to London yet!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

