5 things you never knew about Duncan Norvelle.

At Christmas 2008, Duncan “Chase me” Norvelle was appearing at the theatre in Stevenage in a ‘Legends of the Oche’ show/tournament. I commented at the time – but re-reading my post I was curious to know if he was gay or not, given that his whole routine was based around limp-wristed campery.

So I Googled and here are 5 things that I didn’t know this time yesterday:

1. Duncan Norvelle is straight (married to Jane (Norvelle)).

A heterosexual man, yesterday.

A heterosexual man, yesterday.

2. Duncan Norvelle hosted the pilot show which eventually went on to become Blind Date.

BLINDER DATER as our Graham used to say.

BLINDER DATER as our Graham used to say.

3. Duncan Norvelle scored a record 281 as a celebrity guest on Bullseye.

You get nothing for 2 in a bed in this game.

You get nothing for 2 in a bed in this game.

4. Duncan Norvelle is a part-time landscape gardener – and sometimes does other celebs’ gardens.

One of his creations. S'alright innit.

One of his creations. S'alright innit.

5. Duncan Norvelle can be seen selling furniture in Kamenka furniture store on Doncaster Road, Stairfoot.

Dunc puts the 'furn' in 'furniture'.

Dunc puts the 'furn' in 'furniture'.

I, for one, feel better for knowing all of the above.

Bookmark Parking in Stevenage

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. I feel the need to indicate that the top handle on the chest of drawers used to illustrate this post, is wonky. As this is almost certainly an unrelated chest of drawers, I do not feel the need to reprimand neither you nor Mr. Norvelle but it did occur to me that the handle was probably suited to the limp-wristed; which might provide adequate reference to the content of your original post.

    Reply
  2. Lena

     /  October 18, 2009

    Duncan Norvelle was outed as hetero years ago when he got my sister’s mate pregnant!

    Reply
    • pottaz

       /  October 21, 2009

      Can this be true? Is it libelous to include this on my blog?

      Google and Wiki come up blank. Does Mrs Norvelle know all this. I’d hate to break their marriage up…

      Let me know one way or the other!

      Reply
  3. Ryan Gaffney

     /  May 2, 2010

    I loved him as a man, and a lover.

    Reply
  4. None of you have a freakin clue! Duncan doesn’t even know Duncan!

    Reply
  5. Orville

     /  November 22, 2011

    I lent £5000 to Duncan Norvelle for plastic surgery, don’t think i’ll get it back he’s gone straight.

    Go on chase me!

    Reply
  6. Davo 1000

     /  November 23, 2011

    My Mum told me that Duncan married Burt Weeden in a civil ceremony last year! Could this possibly be true?

    Reply
  7. Lorraine

     /  April 6, 2012

    Lorrie From what I gather! Ithink that Duncan doesnt know how women put up with his attitudes ; I think he wants relise what he is doing having children to different women. He wants to be careful he doesnt get a bad name for himself.

    Reply
  8. Paul glackin

     /  June 9, 2012

    Some useless information but made me smile

    Reply
  9. Robert. F.

     /  October 29, 2012

    I met Duncan when i was working in a bar in the late 70s near Nottingham where he started off. He was an up and comming comedian and was great, a very funny guy. I had a game of snooker with him at the end of the evening and couldnt play for laughing as he chased me round the table. I knew he was straight even back then. Shame he has suffered ill health of late. Hope he recovers soon.

    Reply
  10. dave

     /  December 26, 2012

    i have spent many hours with duncan and you can’t meet a better person. Get well soon mate

    Reply
  11. roger

     /  April 26, 2013

    Did Duncan work in the menswear trade?

    Reply
  12. paul buller

     /  May 2, 2010

    duncan was filled with hate. he was a deeply depressed individual – haunted by a life he felt was phoney and unfilfilling. to this day norvelle has remained deeply resentful and angry about the part he was forced to play, as a gay man, in the perpetuation of the ‘gay myth’

    Duncan liked football, darts, real ale and steam trains and yet was proud to be a leading figure in the alternative community.

    his comedy persona was intended directly to portray the camp kind of persona Duncan knew would only be acceptable to the BBC. norvelle’s mission to prove that to be gay was not to be queen and duncan feels he has succeeded in this mission

    Reply
  1. Duncan Norvelle rides again. « Parking in Stevenage

Leave a Reply

