‘Being John Malkovich’ earphones.

My old earphones broke the other day so I started shopping for a new pair. Ever the informed consumer, I decided to check out review sites and Amazon and suchlike.

A pair that received glowing reviews all round was a brand I’d never heard of: Exspect. Not a great name – probably just a front for some massive Chinese factory churning out white label brown goods for next to nothing.

Well they were cheap and when I got to HMV they’d knocked a fiver off. £10 for a pair of in-ear isolating earphones with in-line volume and inter-changeable metal bits to match one’s iPod.

Wow - I forgot Cameron Diaz was in BJM.

I have to agree with the other reviewers, even disregarding the absurdly low price, they’re pretty solid.

What does take a bit of getting used to is just how isolating the sound is. Not only does it block out all extraneous noise, it also envelopes you in your own little bubble of you-ness. What I mean is, when I’m between songs I can hear everything my body’s doing a hundred-fold. Breathing, coughing, talking, heart-beating – it all sounds just like I’ve crawled down a small passage and fallen into John Malkovich’s head.

Recommended.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. william

     /  April 11, 2010

    Are you still lost in your own bubble ?

    Reply
  2. Bitchbag

     /  April 12, 2010

    Try eating a packet of McCoy’s Crisps (Steak flavour), with the earphones firmly squeezed into your Conchas. Crunch-tastic.

    Reply
  3. pottaz

     /  July 20, 2010

    +++ UPDATE +++

    The wires are starting to go. Outwardly there’s no sign of wear, but if I catch the wire right by the headphone socket, one of the channels falls away. I can live with it for now, but this could be the beginning of the end.

    For all that, they’re still pretty good. I use ’em at least twice a day and they get chucked in the bag with the iPod along with all the rest of the crap I needlessly carry to work and back, so fair play for a tenner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

