The Carl Cox of popcorn.

Easily visible from Stevenage station is the Stevenage Leisure Park. So long as your idea of leisure is cinema/gym/bowling/McDonald’s/nightclub, you’ve come to the right place.

The jewel in its crown is the multi-multi-screen Cineworld. I picked my son from there at the weekend. He’d just seen Iron Man 2 (verdict: great!). As I loitered in the foyer, trying hard not look as though I was there to pick up girls, I looked up and saw this rather menacing chap wearing what looked like a welding mask in a DJ booth overlooking the¬†exorbitantly-priced snacks.

DJ Popcorn-Popper in the house.

It turns out that he’s neither welding, DJing or hatching a plan to take over the world; he’s making fresh popcorn which then somehow descends into the units below ready to be consumed by hungry movie-goers.

I swear that window wasn’t there before. It all seems to be part of a plan for Cineworld to show the world that their popcorn is made fresh on the premises, rather than shipped in pre-popped (which is what they might have done before – allegedly).

While I was at it, I aimed my phone’s camera at the mirrored ceiling. This is what you get when you do such a thing. Can you spot me?

Looking up, looking down.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I am very afraid that something that amuses me enormously when entering Stevenage by car is the sign ‘tourist attactions’. Especially when followed by ‘the leisure park’.

    Reply
  2. pottaz

     /  May 6, 2010

    Ah, my first ever commenter, coming in from the cold again! Yes, I know the exact signs you mean. I think one may even have a merry-go-round graphic on it for added surrealism.

    Oh yes, tourists flock from miles around to behold the Frankie & Benny’s – just across from the Liquid and Envy nightclubs (also chokka with tourists…).

    I’ll be posting a new pic in the Leisure Park’s honour, just for you!

    Reply
  3. That popcorn window has always been there. Never spotted the welding mask, though.

    Reply
    • pottaz

       /  May 6, 2010

      Seriously? I’ve been a patron of that cinema for 2 or 3 years now and I’d NEVER spotted it before. And I thought I was observant. Next you’ll be telling me they play films there.

      Reply
  4. William

     /  May 6, 2010

    Was the mask wearer promoting the Iron Man 2 movie ?

    Reply
    • pottaz

       /  May 6, 2010

      Don’t think so. Maybe he was promoting YTS welding courses for ‘dem yout’.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

