Chip coin collection.

For some reason, my season ticket isn’t working properly. It won’t let me into Swingate. When you swipe the card the display just says “Please wait…”.

Then it won’t do anything. I buzzed the help button and the guy said reverse out (does that really reset it?) And take a chip coin. This yellow token is what non-season-ticket-holders use to get in – then when you leave, you put the coin in the machine, you pay how much you owe and away you go. Except my card still lets me out. Which leaves me with a chip coin every time.

One... two... yup, that's three.

Granted, it’s a modest collection: 3 all told. But it does leave me with a quandary. Where to return them? If I try to put them in the machine it’ll ask for some massive sum dating back to last week.

There’s a Stevenage Council van sometimes parked in Swingate. I’m half-tempted to just pop them on the roof of the van and scurry away.

I’ve come back to this post a couple of days later. I kept meaning to make a follow up call to the parking chaps to get this sorted. But being busy at work, I hadn’t got round to it.

All that became academic when I opened an envelope in Saturday’s post to discover a new pass – thanks (Mrs) Phyll Walklate! And lo, it lets me in AND out of the car park.

Maybe I could take a leaf out of their book and use this whole mail thingy to return these chip coins. There might be something in this…

As a footnote I will add that at least one regular reader will be glad of this return to this blog’s core competency: the intimate and sometimes excruciating details of parking in Stevenage. Enough of this mission creep. Let’s get back to basics. Well. We’ll see.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I applaud the return to the subject of Parking in Stevenage this topic being sine qua non for this particular blog.

    However, I do also yearn for wider Stevenage discussion; Wikipedia, for example, illuminates that the municipality has “some of the tallest street-lights in Britain” (pun intended).

    Wherefore art these towering beacons? As the evenings draw in, time must be given over to the details of Stevenage’s approach to road safety in the hours of darkness. You might like to start with details of the provision in the immediate vicinity of Swinegate.

    I leave it in your capable hands.

    Reply
  2. cristian

     /  November 26, 2014

    as I can reset these ChipCoin, because not work

    Reply
  3. john

     /  October 6, 2017

    check the machine for branding, if it says Scheidt & Bachmann then return to unit 7 silverglade retail park, chessington

    Reply
  4. pottaz

     /  October 7, 2017

    Thanks – really kind of you to advise, John. But this post is from 2010. The date is tucked away, granted. It worked itself out in the end – can’t remember how. I think I ended up mailing the chip coins to the council.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

