The egg in my car.

Why is there an egg in my car? It’s not really an egg, it’s a dehumidifier in disguise. For some reason, in winter my reasonable-in-every-way Ford Focus gets steamy inside (see http://bit.ly/f5u1Cn). Something to do with leaky seals perhaps; I’m no expert.

When it gets really cold, I can come back from work to find the windscreen has iced up on the inside. Well that’s no good – I can’t see out to drive.

So I’ve bought this. You leave it in the car and over time it absorbs moisture in the air and stores it it so it can’t get out again. It’s even got an indicator on it to tell you when it’s getting full.

If it shows pink you just sling it in the microwave for 10 minutes and all the moisture’s forced out again.

Does it work? Yes. I’ve noticed a big improvement. Low cost, low maintenance. Perfect.

If you want to get one and see for yourself, I got mine from here:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300471917413

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. CJ

     /  January 24, 2011

    Love the description on the ebay page listing this as a feature;

    Double usage: Has the function of dehumidifier and decoration.
    *****

    I hoped you drew a face on yours?

    Reply
    • pottaz

       /  January 24, 2011

      I must say it does lend the car interior a certain ‘je ne sais quoi’!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

